Our Form of Government

Montague is a town of 8,437 people, located along the Connecticut River in Franklin County, Massachusetts.

There are five unique villages in Montague: Montague Center, Montague City, Millers Falls, Lake Pleasant, and Turners Falls. The Town Hall is located in Turners Falls, the largest village in the Town of Montague.

The Town is governed by a three-person Selectboard, and has a representative form of Town Meeting (read the Citizen's Guide to Town Meeting here), which includes 21 people from each of the five villages, each holding a three-year seat.

There are two separate Fire Districts in Montague: the Montague Center Fire District, and the Turners Falls Fire District. Each respective fire district includes their own water department.

For a complete list of districts that also serve the villages of Montague, see Other Local Districts.

Calendar of Events
Memorial Day -- HOLIDAY
Mon, May 27, 2024, All Day
Posted to: Selectboard
Retirement Board -- SCHEDULED
Tue, May 28, 2024, 9:00 am
via Zoom, invite on Agenda
Posted to: Retirement Board
  • Attached File: Retirement Board 2024-05-28 Agenda
  • Tue, May 28, 2024, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
    Town Hall Annex Meeting Room
  • Attached File: DPW SUPT Hiring Committee Agenda 2024-05-28
  • Tue, May 28, 2024, 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
    Zoom Meeting: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86060872442?pwd=TUhzV3EyYmNma0VrNVRoR1lldUtaUT09
    Posted to: Energy Committee
  • Attached File: Montague Energy Committee Agenda 2024-5-28
  • Wed, May 29, 2024, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
    Zoom (link in agenda)
    Posted to: Library Trustees
  • Attached File: 2024-05-29 Branding Agenda
  • Latest News
    We will be hosting 2 open houses for the public to learn about the plan, its draft recommendations, and provide feedback.
    401 WQC for the FirstLight Hydroelectric Re-Licensing Project