Our Form of Government

Montague is a town of 8,437 people, located along the Connecticut River in Franklin County, Massachusetts.

There are five unique villages in Montague: Montague Center, Montague City, Millers Falls, Lake Pleasant, and Turners Falls. The Town Hall is located in Turners Falls, the largest village in the Town of Montague.

The Town is governed by a three-person Board of Selectmen, and has a representative form of Town Meeting (read the Citizen's Guide to Town Meeting here), which includes 21 people from each of the five villages, each holding a three-year seat.

There are two separate Fire Districts in Montague: the Montague Center Fire District, and the Turners Falls Fire District. Each respective fire district includes their own water department.

For a complete list of districts that also serve the villages of Montague, see Other Local Districts.

Calendar of Events
Thu, Jun 1, 2023, 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Town Hall upstairs meeting room
Posted to: Library Trustees
  • Attached File: 2023-06-01 Building SC Agenda
  • Tue, Jun 6, 2023, 7:15 pm
    Town Hall Second Floor Meeting Room and Zoom
    Posted to: Selectboard
    Thu, Jun 8, 2023, 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
    Selectboard Meeting -- SCHEDULED
    Mon, Jun 12, 2023, 6:30 pm
    Via Zoom
    Posted to: Selectboard
    Montague EDIC -- SCHEDULED
    Wed, Jun 21, 2023, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
    Posted to: Montague EDIC
    Latest News
    A briefing on the current study to examine the relaunch of passenger rail along the Route 2/Norther Tier/Patriot Corridor--update, process, timeline
    To learn more about the recently completed Sawmill River Assessment & landowner assistance programs for conservation practices.
    Public comment accepted through 6/13/2023